Q: When is a road-handling hazard created?
A: In only 3 cases:
Q: What happens if I overshoot the last corner before the pit lane?
A: Whenever someone overshoots a corner, he or she has to go straight while overshooting.
This is always true. You cannot swerve, change lane, slipstream, or even enter
the pit lane when overshooting.
Q: When a car is entering the pit lane and reaches either one of
the two double-arrow colored spaces that are adjacent to its assigned pit,
must the car move an additional space to make a "pit stop", or is this
transfer automatic?
A:No, the transfer is not automatic. The car must ENTER the pit, off of the pit
lane. In other words, other cars must be able to go through the entire pit lane during
your pit stop.
When you come out of your pit, you start counting "1" on EITHER one of
the two "double-arrow" spaces adjacent to the pit.
Q: Can I slipstream the car in front of me if we're both in 4th
gear ?
A: YES. This is one of the confusing rules, introduced during the English translation
of the game.
The *correct* rule is:
A car can only benefit from a slipstream if it is in the same or higher
gear as the car in front of it. Both cars must be in 4th gear, at least.
In other words, simply replace "cannot" with "can only" in your
printed rules!
The following table tells you when slipstreaming is allowed, and when it's not. (Car
B is coming from behind car A, just like in the graphic on page 2 of the advanced
rules)
Car A is in gear # |
|||||
1,2,3 |
4 |
5 |
6 |
||
Car B is in gear # |
1,2,3 |
NO |
NO |
NO |
NO |
4 |
NO |
YES |
NO |
NO |
|
5 |
NO |
YES |
YES |
NO |
|
6 |
NO |
YES |
YES |
YES |
Q: What happens when a slipstream helps me getting into a corner?
A: Again, the English rules are quite misleading... Here's what you *really* need
to know about this situation:
What's the advantage of using hard tires?
A: When using hard tires, you will not double the penalties if you overshoot
a corner, as opposed to soft tires. Also, you can keep the same "set" of
hard tires for more than one lap without additional penalties.
Therefore, if you save your car enough during the first or second lap, you can plan
on not making a pit stop to gain positions.
This can be a good strategy which is hardly possible to consider if you use soft
tires... except for kamikaze drivers!!
(soft tires "lose" their +1 bonus if you don't make a pit stop to "renew"
them)
Q: Why do all the drivers in 5th or 6th gear have to roll a dice
to test their engine when someone rolls a 20 or a 30?
A: Because that's the rule. :-)
The idea behind this rule is that in Formula 1, you can randomly explode your engine,
with no apparent reason. This is to test how reliable engines are, affecting all
drivers considered "at high speed" whenever someone "pushes his engine
to the limit" by throwing a 20 in 5th or a 30 in 6th gear.
Note: Some leagues have modified this rule so that *only* the driver who got the
20 or 30 tests the reliability of his engine. It's up to you!
Q: Crossing out the last point of "Brake" or "Gas"
is ok, but if I cross out my last "Body" or "Engine", I'm out
of race. Why is that?
A: There are 3 categories of points on your "dash board"
Q: When exactly does a 'Weather Change' roll happen?
A: The weather condition can change during a race when:
Note: both conditions need to be fulfilled. If a race starts under the
"Sun" or the "Rain", the initial
weather remains for all the race.
Proceeding order: