These questions and answers were printed in White Dwarf No. 182.
Q: Can I use a team reroll to reroll the result when I'm rolling on the Kick-Off
table? Or when I roll to see if a K.O.ed player recovers consciousness? A: No to both questions. Team rerolls may only be used during your own team turn
and at no other time.
Q: Do prone players have a tackle zone?
A: No they don't. This isn't specifically stated in the rules although it is
noted on the introductory playsheet.
Q: Does a player with the Frenzy skill have to go for it and move extra
squares if he fails to knock an opponent over when he throws a block.
A: No, but the frenzied player may attempt to move extra squares and carry on
attacking if his coach wants him to.
Q:Nobbla Blackwart is armed with a chainsaw and has the frenzy skill. Does this
mean that he can continue to make attacks with the chainsaw if the first
attack fails to take the victim out?
A: No, the Frenzy skill only applies when Nobbla makes a block.
Q: What happens if a player with Frenzy skill blocks an opponent with Stand Firm
skill and gets a push back result? Does the frenzied player carry on
making blocks even though he wasn't able to push his opponent back?
A: Yes.
Q: Are all modifiers to armour and injury rolls added together? For example,
if a player with Mighty Blow and Dirty Tackle fouls another player does
he +4 to the armour roll (+1 Mighty Blow, +2 Dirty Tackle and +1 for the
foul)?
A: Ooops! The rules for skills are missing an important note which states that
only one skill may be used to modify a dice roll, although any number
of other, non-skill related modifiers can also be used. In the example
above, the Coach should either have his player us ehis Mighty Blow skill
to modify the dice roll, or his Dirty Tackle skill to modify the dice
roll, but not both (and I know which I'd use!). The +1 bonus for making
a foul would still apply whichever skill was used. Note that it is only
dice roll modifiers which may not be combined - a player with Strong Arm
(which reduces the range of the pass) and Accurate (which gives a +1
to the pass modifier) would be allowed to use both skills on the same
pass, for example.
Q:Can a player use Mighty Blow or similar skills to modify armour and/or injury rolls if:
i) A player dodges out of his tackle zone and falls over?
ii) A player is pushed off the field by the player with Mighty Blow and
beaten up by the crowd?
iii) An opposing player blocks the player with Mighty Blow and falls over
himself?
A:i) No, ii)No, iii)Yes.
Q: Does the diving tackle skill allow a player with the skill to make a block
against every opponent that enters his tackle zone, or may it
only be used once per opposing team turn?
A: The skill may only be used once per opposing team turn.
Q: May a player who has been hypnotised assist a block?
A: Yes, but note that because they have lost their tackle zone, they do not stop
any opposing players lending an assist as well.
Q: Does a player with Horns and Frenzy skill recieve the +1 strength modifier
when he follows up and makes an extra block?
A: The player counts +1 strength for the extra blocks, but only if they occur as
part of a blitz action.
Q: Are the conditions for making a foul the same as for a block?
A: No. You can assist a foul even if you are in an opposing player's tackle zone.
Q: Does a K.O.ed player get a chance to recover from his injury before every
kick-off?
A: Yes.
Q: The 'Sorry' and 'Sorry Sir' special play cards can result in a team's Head
Coach (i.e. me!) getting killed. Is this correct? And if it is, what
effects does it have?
A: Yes, these cards can be used against Head Coaches. If the Head Coach is injured
or killed then he may not argue the call for the rest of the match (and
Undead Necromancer's may not use their 'Raise The Dead' spell either).
If a Head Coach is killed then he is replaced for free in time for the
next match. Undead teams that lose their Necromancer Head Coach can carry
on playing, but none of the players in the team are allowed to Regenerate
as this function is performed by the Head Coach rather than the players
themselves. The Necromancer will be repaced for the next match in the
same way as a normal Head Coach.
Q: If a player holding the ball is pushed off the field and becomes a casualty,
does the player who pushed him get 2 star player points? And does the
ball get thrown back in by the fans as normal?
A: Yes to both questions.
Q: After the ball has scattered D6 squares at the kick-off and lands in an empty
square in the recieving team's half, what happens if the ball bounces
off the field? Is it thrown in or is it a touchback?
A: The recieving team gets a touchback.
Q: When a player dodges away from one of your players and fails the dodge roll
and then suffers an injury, does the player he was dodging away from earn
2 star player points for inflicting a casualty?
A: No.
Q: Do niggling injuries last for a whole season? Or are they cancelled out once
a 2-6 is rolled on a D6 in the pre-match sequence?
A: Niggling injuries are permanent and are never ever lost! A player that has
picked up several niggling injuries has to roll for each and every one
of them before each and every match that he plays!
Q: If a standing player is pushed into a square containing the ball does he get
a chance to pick it up or does it scatter one square.
A: It scatters one square. Q: If a player thrown by a team mate lands in the same square as another player,
do either (or both) of the players need to make an armour roll followed
by an injury roll after they are knocked over?
A: Yes. Unless the rules state otherwise, a player that is knocked over for any
reason must make an armour roll to avoid injury.
Q: The Landing Modifiers on the example of Throwing a Team-Mate are different to
those printed in the rules. Which is correct?
A: The Landing Modifiers printed in the rules are the correct ones (i.e. +1 for
an accurate pass, -1 per tackle zone on the square where the player lands).
Q: A number of Dwarf players have the Tackle skill, but it's not described in
the Blood Bowl Handbook. How does the skill work?
A: Ooops! I'm afraid I managed to miss the Tackle skill out of the handbook,
although it is in Death Zone. If a player has the Tackle skill then
opposing players who are in his tackle zone are not allowed to use their
Dodge skill if they attempt to dodge out of the player's tackle zone,
nor may they use their Dodge skill if the player throws a block at them.