The unbridled use of reddish-brown paint suggests that this lettering replaces older signs, particularly the bracket shaped area around the word 'Sons (GCB) Ltd'.
John Good & Sons Limited
In the year 1813 a young boy of 11 left his Scarborough home and 'signed on' the sailing brig "British Volunteer" to begin a life-time's association with the sea and shipping. Over the next 20 years John Good continued his seagoing experience on vessels trading to the Baltic, White Sea and Mediterranean, gaining his Master's Certificate.
In 1833 he set up an office in Hull to found the company John Good & Co., as Ship Chandlers, Agents and Brokers, utilising the connections he had built up mainly with the Baltic and Finnish ship owners. After his retirement in 1864 his two sons continued to run the company, which had also expanded into ship owning. The Company's first regular liner agency was obtained in 1883 for Finland Steamship Company's new cargo and passenger services between Finland and Hull. This agency continued for over 100 years.
The company has continued to expand, concentrating on general agencies, ship agencies, and liner agencies, opening offices throughout the United Kingdom including Felixstowe and the Immingham ports. Today John Good Shipping provides a total transportation service and is one of the largest independent ship agency companies in the United Kingdom, still family owned and run. [current Chair: John Good according to their website www.johngood.co.uk]
-
Sadly, his lettering has now been expunged, as part of the conversion of the wharf to an hotel. However, 'SALTHOUSE HARBOUR HOTEL' (above right) on the front and side walls is at, least, in the same character as the John Good lettering. The rather ugly, grey, upper portion has been added, but the building is, once again, in use as part of the waterfront regeneration.

Home
Copyright throughout this site belongs to Borin Van Loon, 2003.
1