----------------------------------------------------------------- Article: The Metronome Issue By Edo (hrzic@hawaii.edu) Okay now. Onto yet ANOTHER subject that is the cause for some controversy on the PokeGym forum. It concerns the use of the attack of Metronome on both of the English cards of Clefairy and Clefable. Here's what's going on. Let's say you copy Blastoise's Hydro Pump attack: "Does 40 damage plus 10 more damage for each W Energy attached to Blastoise but not used to play for this attack's Energy cost. Extra W Energy after the second doesn't count." Or, let's say you copy Exeggutor's Big Eggsplosion attack: "Flip a number of coins equal to the number of Energy attached to Exeggutor. This attack does 20 damage times the number of heads." Now that we have set up the situation, there has been some confusion on what Pokemon the Energy of those two attack should be based upon. There are two schools of thought on the issue. School of Though One: It is based upon the Energy of the Defending Pokemon (the Pokemon from which you are copying from). School of Though Two: It is based upon the Energy of the Attacking Pokemon (the Pokemon that is using Metronome). Wizards of the Coast, and other people have ruled, that it is based upon the first (the Energy on the Defending Pokemon). But, from a translating standpoint, I am going to tell you something. Wizards is wrong. How so? Well, it seems that Wizards has made some errors within their translations. Generally, whenever you see the attacking Pokemon's name within the text of an attack it is using, it should read "this Pokemon" or "itself". At least, this is how the ORIGINAL, JAPANESE cards have it written. Are you confused yet? Let's take a few examples now, if we were to use Wizard of the Coast's ruling on this. And just like Wizards, we are going to look at the proper noun in the attack, rather than what the attack implies: - Copying "Double Edge" from Chansey would do 160 damage to Chansey. - Copying "Thunder Punch" from Electabuzz, and throwing tails would result in doing 10 more damage to Electabuzz (so, either way, the attack is doing 40 damage it it). - Copying "Recover" would remove all damage counter from the Defending Pokemon. - Copying "Foul Odor" from Gloom would have only Gloom being Confused (since Gloom is both Gloom AND the Defending Pokemon). - Copying "Rampage" from Tauros, and throwing tails would result in Tauros being Confused. Speaking of Tauros, I'm going to give you two translation of the "Rampage" attack, the first being the Wizards of the Coast translation: "Does 20 damage plus 10 more damage for each damage counter on Tauros. Flip a coin. If heads, Tauros is now Confused (after doing damage)." Now, here's a translation from the Japanese version of the card: "Does 10 more damage for each damage counter attached to itself. After that, flip a coin. If tails, itself is now Confused." See how it is? People who have ruled on the Hydro Pump/Big Eggsplosion issue stay with the first school of thought on those two attacks, but use the SECOND school of though when dealing with the examples that I just gave you above. They're the same bloody things! Even the "Pokemon Card GB" (the Gameboy version of the card game) uses the second school. I have even written Wizards about the matter, giving evidence and examples to the contrary of their ruling, and they haven't even written me back yet. Either: they're really busy, and haven't gotten to it yet; they've read it, and checking the ruling of the Japanese affiliate (Media Factory); or, my assessment is correct, and they can't stand to be wrong and have refused to answer. Which one do YOU think it is? ----------------------------------------------------------------- Fin.