The Gibbs Ballparks Page
Memorial to Old Comiskey Park

Comiskey Park opened July 1, 1910 and served Major League Baseball for eighty years. Compared to its peers it was an absolute palace of baseball. Its replacement which until 2003 bore the same name (now called U.S. Cellular Field) is across the street and opened its gates for the 1991 season. It is the most grandiose monument to any former MLB ballpark.

The location of the original home plate is preserved in marble with the batters boxes and foul lines also marked. It's an awesome experience to so casually step into the batters boxes where such talented and inspiring ballplayers once stood .... Joe Jackson, Babe Ruth, Ty Cobb, Jimmie Foxx, Lou Gherig, Josh Gibson, Joe DiMaggio, Ted Williams, Yogi Berra, Nellie Fox, Carl Yastrzemski, Richie Allen, Carlton Fisk .... to step on the same home plate as these and all the other greats, as well as ballplayers from World Series games and the first-ever All-Star Game .... what a rush!!

Netscape users can right-click and view-image to see the full-size images.

Use your browser's "back" button to return to the Major League Ballparks page, or replace "Comiskey" with "major" in the URL location.

That original brickwork is so stunning.

In 1957, the old palace is aging very gracefully but the neoteric signature white paint job was soon to come.

The final game in September, 1990 (left) with the new Comiskey Park getting ready for the 1991 season.

Eight Men Out -- Defense attorneys are accompanied in the courtroom by, seated from left, attorney William Fallon along with Shoeless Joe Jackson, Buck Weaver, Eddie Cicotte, Swede Risberg, Lefty Williams and Chick Gandil, members of the Chicago White Sox accused of throwing the 1919 World Series (not shown: ballplayers Happy Felsch and Fred McMullin).

1