Click here to return to Home Page.
Resorts were few and far between when Colonial Beach came into being. The river steamers made it an ideal place to reach with minimum effort. The steamers also played an important part in the economic growth of the town.
The freight wharf hosted the Norfolk and Baltimore Line, the Southland, Calvert, Wakefield and the Anne Arundel
The Potomac is the one that most remembered but the St. Johns was the greatest of all the passenger steamers.
The Happy Clam today is where the old Wilkerson Resturant once stood. Where the new Wilkerson Resturant stands today was an old artesian well where people used to stop to water their horses and take a drink themselves.
There was nothing else there in 1927 but the ferry, well, and Wilkin's old store. Wilkin's store was located where Wilkerson's oyster house is today. A large fish house was located where Norman's Oil Company is now. Between the fish house and where Wilkerson's is today stood a very long freight wharf, from which hogs, cows, chickens and eggs were shipped to market by steamboat. Two beautiful Victorian homes were located on the beach between Wilkerson's and the Happy Clam.
The pier for the ferry was located where the Happy Clam Resturant is today. Captain John Quincy Adams ran the ferry. The names of the ferries were the Lord Baltimorea 109 foot craft and the Cecil Mae Adamsa 107 foot craft. The ferries had slot machines on board which could not be played while the ferry was tied to the Virginia side.
During prohabition, these two ferries carried many jars of illegal whiskey from the Northern Neck to Maryland and Washington, D.C. points.
Business declined when the bridge for route 301 was completed in 1941. The service stopped in 1942.
In the 1920s along with all the other businesses, some operating year-round, there were nine bars, when liquor-by-the-drink was legal in town, and seven grocery stores. Eating places were plentiful also. Helen Lemons operated resturants in several places, including the Colonial Beach Hotel, as did Mrs. Stone. Millers Crab Shore was constructed around a barn in 1941. The Diner, opened in the late 1940s, was owned by Bryon Pepper and John Ware. Pepper was postmaster for years and operated Pepper's Insurance Agency. Ware was owner of the Texaco Distributorship located on 9th street. The original Wilderson's in town and Wilkerson's just over the town limits, was operating in full swing and both were very popular eating places.