Welcome to the Euchre Strategy Board :-)) Please feel free to ask any euchre question you might have! Or, if you already know everything there is to know about euchre, share your own personal strategies with our readers:-) We will do our best to answer your questions (according to OUR euchre techniques), and hope everyone else will share their's also :-)
NOTE: We do not pretend to be euchre experts - we ARE euchre experts LOL ;);)
#4 |
#5 |
|
check out The Columbus Book of Euchre at www.borfents.com Borf Books |
Dear ?????, Greg is right (and he thinks he always is) about just playing for fun - and with fun people. I'm a fun person ... so if you wanna play, to practice, let me know and I'll meet you for a game. I can bring along a few more fun people, if you'd like. :) sizzler@ix.netcom.com |
#1 |
#2 |
#3 |
I know it's always best to
save a trump to cover the left bower if you have it but what if you are the last one to
play on a trick, then is it okay to trump with the lower trump you were saving to protect
the left? I never know what to do in that situation.
|
Since I now
see that you are posting euchre strategy questions...I have one for you. ) What would you
do if you have only one trump, a low one, and your partner calls. You have the lead and
also have an ace. Would you lead your only trump, not worrying if you might be able to use
it later to trump an opponent's trick...or would you lead the ace, hoping you could help
your partner by snagging their loser? My partner and I always disagree on this. Thanks, |
HELP! I am
*trying* to learn the game of euchre. I have never really played cards before. I don't
understand the concept of *trump*. It's the most difficult part of the game for me.
How does it work? Why would a nine of one suit be higher than an ace of another? (Sorry, I
am too embarrassed about asking such a basic question to post my name and email address!)
Thanks for your help!
????? |
Dear Wondering, Yes, take the trick with the lower trump. In the situation you describe, you are only saving the low trump as cover to protect against a march by your opponents. Taking the trick does just that, and also gives you an opportunity at taking ANOTHER trick, and maybe euchreing your opponents!
Editor (aka GKBurg) |
Dear
Confused, A very difficult question indeed!!! ALL are determined by the way you and your partner play together (risky, conservative, etc.). Personally, if my pard plays conservative, I would lead the low trump. ( I am assuming you have the FIRST lead!!!) Otherwise, I would lead the ace, unless I had several of that suit in my hand. If so, I would lead the highest card in another suit, and say a quick prayer to the Euchre Gods ;);)
Editor |
Dear ?????, (NEVER be embarrassed by asking a question about something you don't under- stand. You should ONLY be embarrassed if you DON'T ask!!!) Calling a trump suit is a part of many card games that gives you an opportunity to make your hand better than it would otherwise be. A trump is any card of the particular suit that has been (in euchre terminology) ordered up! That a trump is of *higher* value than any other card of any other suit is just a rule of the game! Don't get discouraged - play OFTEN - with people that don't mind giving you pointers - that's the best way to get a grasp of the fundamentals of playing the Great Game of Euchre :-)))))))))) Editor |
NOTE: We really ARE NOT euchre experts - we just think we are ;);)