Subject: [NET REP] Rulings Database - 6/12/98 Highlander: The Card Game Rulings Database - All Versions: 1.0 - June 12, 1998 IMPORTANT: This database of rulings is compiled from questions that have been answered by TCG and its representatives therein. Before reading this list of rulings, please take the time to download The Gathering Edition Rules and various Card Errata for Highlander, as well as other FAQs. Many questions that are not answered here will be found there. The questions are organized into specific areas, depending on what the question deals with. For example, if you have a question about a specific Immortal's card, it will be in the section devoted to that Immortal. If you have a more general question about Exertions, then look in the Exertions section. Cards for a particular Persona will be found under that Persona, not the type of card. So Flying Machine/Wings is underneath Corda & Reno, not Objects. An asterisk (*) notes changes since the previous version of the database, _not_ a new entry. 1. General Game Play 2. Deck Construction 3. Sequence of Play 4. Exertions 5. Tournaments 6. General Card Play/Errata'd Cards 7. Attacks 8. Defenses 9. Events 10. Locations 11. Objects 12. Plots 13. Situations 14. Edges 15. Master Cards 16. Promos 17. Quickenings 18. Generic Immortals 19. Amanda 20. Connor MacLeod 21. Duncan MacLeod 22. Luther 23. Nefertiri 24. Richie Ryan 25. Slan Quince 26. Xavier St. Cloud 27. Sunda Kastagir 28. General Katana 29. Khubal Khan 30. The Kurgan 31. The Sorceror Nakano 32. Methos 33. Annie Devlin 34. Hugh Fitzcairn 35. Kalas 36. Kern 37. Corda and Reno 38. Fasil 39. Kane 40. Yung Dol Kim Section A: Game Play 1. General Game Play Q If my opponent uses Sheathe Weapon, and then takes my weapon (via Nakano's Master's Disarm), can I recover my weapon? If he's got my weapon, and he's got his weapon, what am I recovering? (5/20/98) A Yes, you can recover your weapon by playing Recover Weapon or rolling a die. There are no rules or effects in play which prevent him from rolling to regain a weapon. Even if logic dictates there isn't a weapon to recover. Q If I play a single card in response to my opponent playing a discard-to-use card, do any other cards I play with that first card count as me having played more cards? (5/28/98) A No. Any cards you play "in conjunction" with the first card resolve at the same time, before the discard-to-use card can be discarded. Q If I counter an opponent's Steal, will it counter Master Thief as well? (5/29/98) A Currently, Master Thief will work. However, a future general rule stating that if a card is countered, any cards played in conjunction with it are countered as well, will likely be introduced. Q Can I play Temptress on the first turn of the game and do damage to my opponent? What about Extra Shot/Annie to gain an additional unblockable attack? (6/2/98) A No, your opponent must have had a last turn when he didn't attack to play these cards and gain any benefits. Q Can you make a Power Block against a non- Power Blow? (6/2/98) A According to the current rules, no. Q Can you discard for one thing and use that to fulfill multiple discard requirements? (6/2/98) A No. Discarding for one thing never counts for discarding (or choosing to discard) for another. 1. General Game Play 2. Deck Construction 3. Sequence of Play Q If my opponent plays a Leg Sweep and a Master's Head Shot/Duncan, and I have to Exert for a defense against the first attack (because of Feint/Edge), what happens if I played a dodge against the second attack, the Master's Head Shot, and then go back and Exert for a defense against the first attack? (6/2/98) A You can legally play the dodge against Master's Head Shot, before determining if the Leg Sweep resolves. However, if you fail to draw a defense against the Leg Sweep, the dodge has no effect. 4. Exertions Q If I have to Exert to play a card (an Event with Turn of Events, an attack with FM/Wings out), when do I Exert? (6/2/98) A You Exert at the same time you play the card(s). Q If I have to Exert to play a card (due to Turn of Events), and that card is countered, do I still have to Exert? (6/2/98) A Yes. Q If I have a way to make two Exertions, and a way to play two Events, could I play the two Events if Turn of Events were out? (6/3/98) A No. Playing the first card, and Exerting to pay for it, would end your defense phase. If you were able to play the second Event because of Chessex, you don't have an attack phase, so your turn is over and you don't have a chance to play the second Event. If you were able to play a second Event through some other means, play proceeds normally to your attack phase. Q Can I play Darius + an Event, with Turn of Events out, if I have a way to make two Exertions (i.e., Flashback/Kern)? What about if I play Head Shot and an attack if my opponent has Flying Machine/Wings and Turn of Events out. (6/3/98) A Yes. If you have a way of making two Exertions, you can do this as long as you can play the cards in conjunction with each other. 5. Tournaments Q Are Hogg and Hidden Explosives still banned in Ren-Style? Is Dojo banned in Lean & Mean? Are the two new "exchange" cards legal? What about Master's Advantage? (5/19/98) A No. No. Yes. Currently not banned, but a decision may be pending for Ren format. Q Is Flying Machine/Wings banned in Ren-style play? (5/20/98) A Currently, no. Q Can Duncan and Connor use Clan MacLeod cards in Ren-style? (6/2/98) A Yes, they are considered Immortal-Specific. Q If a judge won't abide by the rulings provided herein, or the FAQs, what should I do? (6/10/98) A Send us (TCG) a report of the problem. If we determine that the judge is not using the proper resource correctly, we will no longer sanction any events for that judge. Q When time is called, do we check abilities and _then_ determine if First Blood is called? Or do we sweep all Specials, and then check abilities? (6/10/98) A Currently, the former. However, see recent postings on new ways TCG will be using to determine first blood. Q Which of the new method of determining first blood will be used at conventions throughout the summer of'98? (6/11/98) A Currently, no decision has been made until after the determination period. Q Does TCG currently support multi-player rules? (6/11/98) A There are currently no "supported" multi- player rules. There may be some in future. Section B: Card Types 6. General Card Types/Errata'd Cards Q If I have a ME1 card that is reprinted in ME2, and the text differs, which version do I use? (6/2/98) A Use the new text in all cases except Alertness/Hidden and Destruction and Head Hunter Pt. 3 (see next entry). There are still some questions concerning determining what the exact text of the new cards is, and how the old cards should be revised if you don't have said text. Q I've got a Destruction and Head Hunter Pt. 3 that are different from the ones I got in ME1. Does that mean I should use the new text for the old ones, as per FAQ entry 2.1? (6/2/98) A No. While the originals were reprinted, new alternate Part 3s were also produced. Both versions of each Part 3 are legal to use. The next version of the FAQ will reflect this. Q What about Narrow Escape? Does this mean I can't use the old ME1 version that let me avoid Ranged Attacks? (6/2/98) A No. Use the newer text that states you can discard a defense to draw 4 cards. You can still use the older card, of course - just treat it as having the text of the new version. Q If my opponent Exerts, then can I discard a discard-to-use card? (6/12/98) A No. You have to wait until he plays at least one card until you can do so. 7. Attacks 8. Defenses Q FAQ 8.3 says I can only play a Guard if it stops a pending attack. But 8.4 says I can play a single Guard even if my opponent didn't attack. Which is correct? (6/3/98) A Both. If your opponent didn't attack, you can play one Guard of your choice. If he did play an attack, you can only play a Guard that would stop that attack. Also note that per the Guard rule change posted 6/9/98, you can no longer play a single Guard even if your opponent didn't attack. Q Can anyone play Master Swordsman from an Exertion during their defense phase? The rules say I can't play a Special Attack from an Exertion. (6/4/98) A Unless it is in your hand, Master Swordsman is _either_ a Special Attack or (per the errata) a block. If you Exert for it during your defense phase, you can play it as a defense. You still cannot Exert and play it during your attack phase as an attack, though. 9. Events Q Treachery refers to five cards when you make an Exertion. What if you make a larger/smaller Exertion? (5/20/98) A The Exertion made due to Treachery can still be modified by any effects that modify the size of an Exertion. Q Treachery: So if I boost my Endurance size up or down (due to Collect), does my opponent have to lose the extra cards? (5/28/98) A Yes Q Treachery: If I used Zocchi to modify my opponent's Endurance up by 1-6, and he then plays Treachery, can I use Zocchi _again_ to lower it by 1-6? (5/28/98) A Yes. The size can be altered any number of times before the actual Exertion is made. Q Treachery: If I have 1-6 Collects out, and my opponent Exerts and then plays Treachery, can I modify "my" Exertion I have to make because of this? (5/28/98) A No. The Exertion is still considered to be your opponent's? Q Treachery: Who discards the cards when Treachery is played? (5/28/98) A The person who played Treachery, not the person targeted by Treachery (i.e., the person owning the deck the cards are coming from). Q The new FAQ entry, 23.5, is a little odd. When do I have to declare what cards I am using with Darius? (5/28/98) A At the beginning of the game. You must declare any cards which _any_ Darius cards (pre-game or in-game) you use are permitting you to have in your deck. Q Head Shot: Can I play this if I can't make an Upper attack or Exert for one? (5/28/98) A No. Q What if I can't play an attack at all (i.e., Ped/Hidden, Ped/Delay, Intimidate/Slan)? (5/28/98) A No, you cannot play a Head Shot then either. You have to be able to play an (Upper) attack or Exert for one to be able to legally play Head Shot. Q Does the errata to the "generic" Disarm apply to the various Persona-specific versions from the Series Edition? (5/28/98) A Yes. Q When do you roll to make a Disarm attempt? (6/10/98) A As soon as you play the card and any Edges that modify it. Q So can I play Disarm, roll and see if I disarm my opponent, then make another attack (if I have the means to) right away? (6/10/98) A Yes. Q What happens if a Darius/event is removed from my deck (due to Amnesia, Psyche, etc.)? Specifically, what happens to the card I added to my deck using that Darius? (6/10/98) A That card remains in your deck, but you cannot play it unless you can play another Darius with it. Any Darius/event can be played to do so. 10. Locations Q What happens when you have two, sometimes contradictory Locations in play due to A Far Away Land? (5/19/98) A Any restrictions and/or advantages of both Locations apply. Q Do the effects of a single type of Location stack if it is in play multiple times (i.e., A Far Away Land)? (6/3/98) A No. Multiple copies of a single in-play card _never_ stack unless they specifically say so, or they affect Ability. Q If Holy Ground/Location/Forfeit is prevented from having an effect on me (due to Master's Sanctuary), when do I forfeit if HG comes back into play? (6/8/98) A Immediately. 11. Objects Q Do multiple copies of the same Object "stack"? (5/28/98) A No. This will be clarified in later rules. Q Trenchcoat says that while it is in play, all Pedestrians, etc., are discarded. So does it continually remove any such things that come into play, through any means? (6/3/98) A Yes. Q If I play a Trenchcoat and my opponent played an Angry Mob/SE last turn, will Trenchcoat remove it from play (where it's waiting to be swept) and keep me from taking damage? (6/10/98) A No. The effect of Angry Mob/SE has already occurred: removing it will not negate the effect. 12. Plots 13. Situations Q Hidden Resources: If I reveal a card (i.e., Honor Bound) that prevents my opponent from playing a card, as he is playing that card, what happens to the card he played? (5/28/98) A The card is already played, and resolves normally. Unless what you revealed is a discard-to-counter card that could counter his card normally. Q Does revealing a Situation through Hidden Resources have _any_ impact on a card just played? (i.e., does revealing Master's Advance force me to discard a dodge)? (5/29/98) A No. Q If a Nemesis card affects my Persona's ability, will it also affect other stuff that does the same thing? So if I'm Kim and my opponent has Surrender out, can I use Parrying Blade? (6/2/98) A Yes, the Nemesis card will affect other sources of the same power. So Kim could not benefit from Parrying Blade when Surrender is in play. Q If I use Continuity/Power Block, and a Guard in play to block a Power Blow, that now is legal. The rules also state that the Guard won't remain a Power Block past the end of the turn. So, if I use the same Guard to block, and use the Continuity to make it a Power Block, does it count as a new use? (6/11/98) A Yes. 14. Edges Q Does Bait & Switch let me play the appropriate defense against a Lunge attack? (6/10/98) A Bait & Switch will cover any such instance where you are unable to play a block _or_ a dodge unless they can only be played from an Exertion. Q Can I modify Berkeley Game Distributors with an Iron Will? (6/10/98) A Currently, no. The ME1 Iron Will only modifies "chance of success," which is not relevant to Berkeley. Q Can I play Alertness/Block (the errata'd version) if I am disarmed? (6/10/98) A No. Your opponent has not played a card to keep you from blocking. Neither is his attack unblockable. Q Will Alertness/Block let me use a Guard I already have in play to block an unblockable attack? (6/10/98) A Yes. The newest revision of the Guard rules makes this clear. Q With the new Alertness errata, it seems like these do what Bait & Switch used to do on certain occasions. So why should I use Bait & Switch? (6/10/98) A You shouldn't. Q Can I use Alertness/Dodge to play a Dodge or Evade if Catwalk is in play? (6/11/98) A Currently, yes. However, both Alertness may possibly not work against Locations in the future. Q Will Alertness/Dodge let me avoid the "cost" of certain cards that don't directly prevent me from playing a dodge. Can I play Alertness/Dodge so that I don't have to discard a dodge to play a dodge due to Master's Advance, for instance? (6/12/98) A Yes. Q What's a good rule of thumb for when I can and can't play Alertness/either version against attacks that are not unblockable and/or undodgeable? (6/12/98) A If there is a card in play which makes you unsure if you can play a defense or not, the proper Alertness will allow you to play that defense? Q What about Discipline/either version? (6/12/98) A The same applies. If a card would force you to discard a Special to play a Special, Discipline/Special would let you ignore it. If a card requires you to discard an attack to play an attack (i.e., Taunt/Luther), you don't have to discard an attack. 15. Master Cards Q Can you play Master cards if your opponent has Master's Advantage in play? (5/19/98) A Yes. The rules limiting Master cards are that 1) you must have a Persona to play with _any_ Master cards, and 2) playing with a Persona sets a limit. With Master's Advantage, you still have a Persona, but you have no limitation. Q Does Master's Advantage/Ramirez keep me from playing Master cards? (5/20/98) A According to TCG's interpretation of the rules, no. Q Does the Master Protect Premium protect any Masters I've added to my deck using pre- game Darii, if those Darii are removed? (5/29/98) A Yes. Q Will the Premium/Protect Masters card protect any Masters, generic or otherwise, that I have in your deck, or just my Persona's? (6/8/98) A Any Masters. 16. Promos Q Are misprinted promos legal to play? (6/2/98) A No, even if you use card sleeves. The official Gathering list (when it is released) will list all cards, regular and promo, that are legal to play. Q What are legal among the "new" promos? (6/2/98) A Appel (from Customer Satisfaction), Spiritual Sanctuary (Promo/Premium trade- in), A Far Away Land (Promo/Premium trade- in), Valor of a Highlander (Nexus sign-up and Renewals), Bright Blades (from Bright Blades), and One Year of Love (Nexus sign- up and Renewals) Q Does Bright Blades add +1 damage to _any_ basic attack played, mine or my opponents? (6/4/98) A Currently, yes. Future errata may change that. For now, however, play the card as it reads. 17. Quickenings Q If an opponent has Watcher Database and Brash Youth in play, and I'm using the "Bob" Quickening, am I affected by it? (6/2/98) A No. That Q is closer to a generic's ability than Richie's. Q If my opponent has Watcher Database and Surrender in play, and I'm using the "if you have an Extra Weapon you can Exert for an extra attack Q," am I affected by it? This used to be called a "Kim" Quickening. (6/2/98) A No, you are not affected by it. Q If I use the "take my opponent's head, get their Persona power" Quickening, and I take Slan's head, but am not playing Slan myself, am I now susceptible to Slan's Nemesis? (6/2/98) A Yes. Q There's a Quickening that says that if you have to discard a Special to play a Special during your defense phase. Do I only have to discard during my Defense Phase to do this for a Special I play during my Defense Phase, or for any Special I play that turn? (6/10/98) A Only for a Special you play during your Defense Phase. Section C: Immortals 18. Generic Immortals 19. Amanda Q I'm Amanda, and my opponent has Master's Advantage out. On my turn, I play Focus and make two attacks. On his turn, how much damage does each attack do? (6/8/98) A The damage from the attacks are determined when they are successful, on your opponent's turn. If Amanda doesn't have her power at that point, her attacks do two damage each. Unless your opponent plays Focus... 20. Connor MacLeod 21. Duncan MacLeod Q If Duncan makes a Power Blow, can Fasil make his first attack Hidden if he blocks? (5/28/98) A No. Q A Leg Sweep/Duncan does "0" damage, which is different from no damage. If I succeed with an unmodified Leg Sweep, does it count as doing damage to my opponent in First Blood? (6/3/98) A No. Q Prime Block's wording is a bit unclear. Can I use it to block a single non-ranged attack, or multiple non-ranged attacks? (6/8/98) A Multiple attacks. Q If I play Concentration/Duncan, can I then play Battle Rage and play Special Attacks from that Exertion? (6/8/98) A You are restricted by Battle Rage, and can only play non-Special attacks. 22. Luther 23. Nefertiri Q Does Nefertiri's Nemesis, Obsession, prevent me from drawing cards due to Holy Ground/SE? (6/2/98) A Yes. Q If Nef's Nemesis, Obsession is out, and I play Holy Ground/ME, do I reshuffle, but then does the Nemesis keep me from redrawing? (6/2/98) A Yes. As per the FAQ 1.8, Holy Ground/ME is considered to be drawing a card, and Obsession prevents you from doing so. You would have 0 cards in your hand at this point. 24. Richie Ryan Q Can Richie play with a Clan MacLeod card if it wasn't Signature? (6/2/98) A Yes. However, there will be no non- Signature Clan MacLeod cards. Q Can Richie benefit from the "Bob" Quickening (i.e., play with one non- Reserved card from each Persona)? (6/4/98) A Yes. This is a reversal of FAQ 23.7. Q So, exactly what benefit does Richie gain from using that Quickening? (6/4/98) A He may use one non-Reserved card, _and_ one Reserved card, from each Persona. 25. Slan Quince 26. Xavier St. Cloud 27. Sunda Kastagir 28. General Katana 29. Khabul Khan Q As Khan, can I play Darius and an Object, or Conjure and an Object, or Alex Johnson and an Object, and then Armorer and _another_ Object? (6/2/98) A Yes. Q Does Forged Armor reduce damage by 1 per piece of Armor I have from _each_ Event played against me in a turn, or against all Events totalled together? (6/8/98) A All Events totalled together. So if someone played two Angry Mobs, and you had Forged Armor + 3 pieces of Armor, the total of six points of damage would be reduced by three, meaning you would take 3 damage. 30. The Kurgan Q Is the Kurgan's Master's Head Shot a Power Blow even if I do play a Special? (5/19/98) A Yes. It is a Power Blow no matter what. Q Can I play two Master's Head Shot/Kurgan in a turn? (6/3/98) A Only if you have a way to make two or more Power Blows in a turn. The MHS is always a Power Blow, whether you played a Special or not. 31. The Sorcerer Nakano Q If Nakano has a way to play multiple Specials (Chessex, Dr. Sonny Jackson), can he discard multiple times, once for each Special he could have played, to "dupe" a card? (5/19/98) A "Instead of" should be interpreted as "If you do not". The answer to the above Question is therefore no. Q When does Nakano's opponent roll to see if he hits, due to Mirror Image? (5/19/98) A After each attack is played. If you play modifiers on an attack, they are usually played when the attack is played, so the roll occurs after such cards are used (Head Shot, Lunge, Power Blow). If you use an effect that allows multiple attacks (Battle Rage, Bloodlust, etc.), you roll after all attacks are played due to the effect. Q Nakano does not play any Specials, and duplicates Fasil's Master's Disarm. Can he do this even if he can't make a non-ranged attack, since the card says he must "play" it in place of a non-ranged attack, and Nakano is discarding, not duplicating? (5/19/98) A No Q Even if Nakano lacks the ability to play multiple Specials/Events, can he discard to duplicate an opponent's Events if they played more than one? (5/20/98) A Yes, as long as he does not play a Special. 32. Methos Q Secret ID: Does this protect against the "generic" Disarm? (5/28/98) A No. Disarm neither instructs "you" (the Secret ID owner) to do anything or prevents you from doing anything. Q When I play Immortal Research, do I immediately have to play the card I take with it? (6/3/98) A Yes. Q Will Secret ID protect me against Challenge/SE, Charlie, or Song of the Executioner Pt. 3. They don't directly affect me: they affect all players. (6/4/98) A Secret ID will protect you against _any_ effect that meets the criteria stated in the Methos FAQ, entry 3.1. If it affects Methos somehow or another, it is directly affecting him. If it changes other cards or effects, and those effects subsequently affect you, Secret ID will _not_ protect you. Q What happens if I have Rachel Ellenstein in play, and my opponent plays A Master's Focus, when he has Premium/Protect Masters in play? (6/10/98) A A Master's Focus is played normally. Rachel Ellenstein is discarded, failing to counter AMF. 33. Annie Devlin 34. Fitzcairn 35. Kalas Q Stalk/Kalas says I can only make it a a Power Blow if I play it with "Head Shot." Does this mean the Event? (6/2/98) A Yes. You cannot make it a Head Shot through other means. Q If I use Immortal Research and see an Immortal-specific card in my opponent's hand, can I play it if I use Darius? (6/8/98) A No. What you are playing with Darius in your deck must be declared at the beginning of the game. Q Can I play Immortal Research to take a Darius card from my opponent's hand, and use it to play one of my own "Darius'd" cards? (6/8/98) A Yes. Darius is specific to which cards are added to your deck, but it doesn't matter where the Darius came from that is played in conjunction with that card. Q [RECONFIRMATION] Can you play Immortal Research to take an opponent's Focus from his hand, and play it during the "Must do/may do" phase? (6/11/98) A Yes. Eventually IR will have errata to that effect. 36. Kern 37. Corda & Reno Q Flying Machine/Wings: Do I have to make an Exertion for _each_ non-Ranged Attack I wish to play? (5/28/98) A Yes. Q Grapple: Do I have to make only one Exertion to attack, no matter how many attacks I play? (5/28/98) A Yes. Q Are the effects of Grapple and Wings cumulative? i.e., do I have to Exert twice to play a single attack? (5/28/98) A Yes. Q In what order do I play Lunge and use The Equalizer on a basic attack? (6/4/98) A Lunge is played "in conjunction" with the basic attack. The Equalizer is discarded "immediately after playing a Basic attack." Q If my opponent plays Maniacal Laugh/Must Attack (ML/MA), and I have no attacks in my hand, do I have to Exert for an attack? (6/4/98) A Yes. Q What if something in play keeps me from making an attack? Do I have to Exert for an attack then? (6/4/98) A No, unless there is something in play that lets you attack. You'll still have to discard a defense due to ML/MA, though. Q What if I can play something from my hand to get around the card that keeps me from attacking? (6/4/98) A You're not forced to play a card to let you attack, if ML/MA forces you to attack. Q What if my opponent has FM/Wings out and plays ML/MA? (6/4/98) A ML/MA forces you to attack. At that moment you can attack. So you have to play the attack, and then Exert to pay for it (as per Wings). Q What if I don't have any attacks in my hand, my opponent has Wings out, and he plays ML/MA? (6/4/98) A Then you have to Exert, because at that moment you can play an attack. But as soon as you do so, you can't make another Exertion, and you can't play any attack you find due to Wings. Q If FM/Wings is out, do I have to exert to play an attack-as-block, using Parrying Blade or Kim's power? (6/8/98) A No. 38. Fasil 39. Kane Q Kane's Fury doesn't specify that I have to "Play it in place of an attack." So can I play my one normal attack, then play Fury, then play ten _more_ (basic) attacks? (6/3/98) A Yes. Q If Kane gets cards from an opponent's Dojo (by stealing it using Shapeshift), can he play Reserved cards from it? What about Signature cards? (6/11/98) A He can play any Reserved cards found in it. He can play Signature cards in it _only_ if they are Kane Signature cards. 40. Yung Dol Kim Q Can Kim use his Persona ability to discard two cards and make a Power Block, and then two more cards and make an additional attack or another Power Block? What about discarding four cards to make two additional attacks? A Nope. He can only discard two cards for one thing per turn. Q Can Kim play a Special Attack from an Exertion on his defense phase, to play it as a block? (6/4/98) A No. A Special Attack can never be played from an Exertion (although it can be drawn and kept from later use, using Divination). Q Can Kim play his first attack to an area that he just blocked to, if he used an attack as a block? (6/4/98) A No. He can use his Extra Weapon ability and Frenzies to skip that first attack and make the second attack anywhere, though. Q Frenzy says that for each one in play you may play one additional "basic" attack. So if I have one Frenzy in play, can I make the basic attack first and then a second attack that isn't necessarily a basic one? (6/8/98) A You must make (or forfeit) an attack before you can start using your additional basic attacks from Frenzy. --- Steve Crow "Worm-Can Opener Extraordinare" Visit my Web site at: http://ourworld.compuserve.com/homepages/Steve_Crow