El Morro Fortress

The Castillo de Los Tres Reyes del Morro's massive ramparts and huge bulwarks were constructed on a point overlooking the city and port, between 1589 and 1630. This structure was designed by the Italian architect Bautista Antonelli, after a similar fortress in Lisbon. He also designed the Fortaleza de San Carlos de Ia Cabana nearby, several years later. Its 12 cannon initially held back countless raids by pirates, corsairs and privateers until its capture by the English in 1762. Admiral Rodney’s fleet of 44 ships with 3000 cannon and 14 000 soldiers completely overwhelmed the Morro under D. Luis de Velasco, who is remembered on a plaque high on the ramparts. Also inscribed there is the name of the Captain General of the Island, Antonio Caballero de Rodas, 1879. Many cannon, both bronze and iron, lie around the fort’s entrance, which is made over a drawbridge crossing a deep moat. Down below, on the left, a fme selection of artillery can be seen, pointing out across the harbour mouth. A row of gun slits in the massive walls are visible before entering the giant pair of doors into the heart of the castle. In the archway entrance, look for the ancient candelabra, which appears to be older than the building itself! The main fort is built on stepped ramparts, and its expansive galleries now serve as a restaurant and a juice bar.
Restoration work has converted the crumbling walls of dungeons and a sentry post into clean stonework chambers, now opened as an extension of the attractions in this fascinating fortress. Walk the battlements and gaze down at the daunting, sombre walls and steep cliff face of the headland.

 

    El Morro Fortress

HomePhotoalbum

1