Parliamentary Procedure Q&A

Q: A member of Fire Co. was nominated for two positions. One position is unopposed and pertains to position in Fire fighting end of Company. The other position pertains to President of Company. The President of the Fire Co. conducts the meetings and also sets on the House Committee, which oversees the Club portion of the Fire Co. The House Committee elects its own Chairperson. Our bylaws state that if the procedure is not covered in bylaws, then we must refer to Robert's Rules of Order for procedure. Is there anything that prevents this person from being elected to both positions and holding both positions?

I understand that if it came to a vote, relative to Fire Co. business the person wouldn't be entitled to two votes. - D.E.Y., Nov. 20, 1998

A: Nothing in RONR prohibits a member from holding more than one office, although it's discouraged. (RONR p. 432.)

Unless voting by proxy is allowed or the bylaws state otherwise, no one may cast more than one vote, regardless of the number of offices he holds.


HOME QUESTIONS OTHER SITES
1