1) There are three things that allow a unit to strike first in the first turn: Charging, Special Abilities (like Skaven Assassins), and Special Magic Items (Helm of Many Eyes). In subsequent turns, it would be Initiative, and the latter two. Then there are double-handed weapons too....
When situations come up like this, who would go first?
Roll a D6 each time a situation comes up. Magic items will always take precedence over
non-magic abilities though.
2) The High Elf book suggests getting permission to use special characters. The Bretonnian book says you need to get it. Is it an actual rule that you need permission for all armies?
As a general rule, players must agree before a battle whether they will be using special characters or not. This is being added to all new printings of all books, too.
3) There are some monsters not listed in the new Battle Book Bestiary which appear in other books IE., Lammasu, Great Taurus, etc. Are they subject to the Bound rules (like say a Wyvren), or not Bound (like a Dragon)?
Assume all dragons are not subject to the Bound Monster Rules, but all other monsters not covered in the Beastiary are subject to them.
4) Hippogriffs are given different point values in different sources. Which value is correct?
145 points is correct in all cases.
5) A Model charges down from Flying High to attack a model that causes Terror. The charging model fails its Terror Test. What does it do?
It lands on the ground where it was intending to & flees 3D6", towards their starting table edge if possible. The unit that was charged does not get to pursue.
6) Resolving attacks w/ units on flying stands. What is the base width of the flying stand? Do you assume that any models forward of the edges of the stand are "in contact" with the enemy, or is it the models in _actual_ physical contact (actually touching the flying stand)?
We roughly place the models into a line as close as we can, then assume the unit stretches between the extremities of the bases.
7) If the general is flying high and dies, does the army need to panic?
Yep! The sight of your general plummeting from the skies, a bloody wreck of flesh, is too much for most troops to bear!
8) Laid to Rest: In a Challenge, what determines who attacks first?
It's worked out as for a normal attack (charger goes first, unless he has a 2 handed weapon, etc).
9) When a template hits a unit in combat or a chariot, there are special rules that make it different from normal shooting. Even though cannons have no physical template, should the up to 10" path of the cannon be taken as a template?
This is a good one! It's not strictly covered in the rules, but around the offices and in the studio we take the path of a cannon to be one long template. If in doubt, imagine the template to be the width of a range ruler or normal tape measurer (about one quarter inch wide) and as long as the path the ball takes from its initial bounce to the point it comes to rest. If the path crosses, for example, two horses and the yoke of a chariot, then roll to wound each horse and the chariot.
10) In the commentary on the rules (page110) it says that rank bonus is lost for the entire combat if the unit is flanked. If I lap round, thus negating my opponent's rank bonus, and he later beats me (forcing me to get my "lappers" back into formation),is his rank bonus still gone for the duration of the combat?
There's a bit of a misunderstanding here. Ranks bonus is only negated when a unit is actually charged in the flank, not merely when a unit is lapped round. Be sure to read the book carefully. Distinctions like this are often present, but overlooked.
11) In Warhammer, because of modifiers to the hand to hand to hit roll and other circumstances such as defending an obstacle, an attacker could require a to hit roll of 7+ or more. Does this mean that the defender cannot be hit?
This is a situation that did not come up in any play testing and so was left out of the rules in the interest of space. Since then, a number of magic items have been introduced which could make it impossible to strike blows against a model. If this situation comes up, use the shooting rules to hit. Therefore, a model which would only be hit on a 7+ (impossible on a d6), a 6, followed by a further 4+ is required. See page 28 of the Rulebook for a more detailed explanation.
12) Daemons are said to have magical attacks that can effect models that can normally only be hit by magic weapons. Are other creatures that have "magical" attacks able to do the same? Dryads are a good example of this.
No. Only attacks which are specifically detailed as being able to affect creatures like ghosts, wraiths, and the like are able to do so. A bit of background that describes the attack or model as magical just isn't enough.
13) Is there anything stopping an allied character from joining a unit from the main army?
There is a strong smell of cheddar here! While there is nothing technically stopping this, it was never the intention of the rules to allow this. Normally when players do this it is with the idea of trying to get around some other rule. Be warned! If players in your group are doing this, they probably have some other, not quite illegal tricks up their sleeves.
14) Can a unit of troops in my Empire army be led by an allied High Elf character?
Yes. Allied characters can join and lead units from the main army like any other character. This does tread that fine line of what is fun and what is beardy! There will be circumstances where it is perfectly appropriate to put an allied character in a unit, even to lead it. Perhaps you are playing a scenario where an Empire army has ventured far from home and Dark Elf assassins have taken out their leaders. They will need help to get the evil black hearted elves back for what they have done. In order to help them, a High Elven hero has offered to lead a unit of swordsmen into battle against his dark cousins. You should feel free to use the many and varied rules that make up Warhammer to make a better gaming experience. If you think you may be going over the top or taking too much advantage of a particular rule, ask your opponents what they think. You might also stop and ask yourself "Would I want someone to use this rule against me? Would I still have fun?" If the answer is no, you have probably gone too far!
1) What happens to a Giant Rat/Rat Ogre unit when you lose enough Packmasters to get below the 6-1 ratio?
Nothing, aside from the leaderless Giant Rats/Rat Ogres having to use their own Leadership if all Packmasters are dead!
1) Do White Lions get their normal attacks in addition to their special attack or is it that their special attack is their attack?
White Lions still roll 1 die to attack regardless of which of their special attacks they are using.
1) What are the Laws of Chivalry as they apply to losing the Blessing of the Lady of the Lake? Or can the Blessing simple never be lost?
The latter - the Bretonnian player is assumed to have demonstrated sufficiently chivalrous behavior already.
2) In the Bretonnian lance formation, who is considered to be actually touching the foe? We know that the outer edge can attack, but does this mean that, since the models themselves are not in contact things like the Talon of Death will not work? Would it be best to assume that the models who got to attack the enemy are considered to be touching the enemy ahead of them?
Yes, assume any figures in combat are in base to base contact for all purposes.
3) Does the Green Knight get his 2+ save against "instant kill, no wounds applied" spells & magic items?
The Green Knight's save is in fact a regeneration effect, and can be taken whenever he dies, no matter what killed him. It doesn't prevent him from dying, it just keeps him from staying that way.
1) We could really use a "Rapid Fire" covering what is living & what is
not (undead) (esp. Undead & Nagash!). It would settle many arguments! In
the mean time, which of the following would be considered "living"?
- Nagash
- Vampires
- Liches
- Ghouls
No for all, except Ghouls
2) Does the -1 to hit a Zombie Dragon in combat apply to its rider as well?
Yes. A models which is in contact with the Zombie Dragon is taken to be fighting it. Therefor, the -1 to hit applies to any attack the model makes for as long as he remains in contact with the beast.
3) If an undead wizard declares that he is trying to raise a new unit through one of his spells, and fails to get 5 models, can he opt to put them into another unit instead?
No. Once the player says he is raising a new unit, he will have to roll the bones and accept his fate.
4) The Undead Book explains the Necromancy spells in greater detail than Warhammer Magic. Curse of Years does not affect non-living targets. Summoning spells can raise catapults and fix chariots (good thing too with the low toughness!). Warhammer Magic makes no mention of this. Are the expanded entries in the Undead Book still valid?
Yes, unless they contradict Warhammer Magic. This means that catapults can still be raised and the Vermin Lord is safe from the Curse of Years. You Undead players should be good sports and let your opponents read your book!
5) Spell Allocation for the Undead: Undead Wizards can draw from 3 different decks (Battle, Dark, Necromantic). What are their options?
Draw _all_ spells from 1 deck. Aside from the Beastmen Shamans, all wizards draw spells from a single deck.
6) When summoning undead, 5 models must be created to form a new unit. Cavalry count as 2 models. Does this mean I need to roll a 10 on the dice, or just 6 (to see how many I summon)?
In this case, the number needed is 10. You must be able to summon at least 5 complete models, not just 5 "models worth." Cavalry count as two models, so a roll of 10 still only gets you 5 models, but 5 must be summoned. Screaming Skull Catapults and chariots are exceptions. You need only summon one complete model (including its crew) to succeed in summoning new catapults and chariots.
7) Wraiths and Ghosts have special rules that force their opponents to make a break check even if they beat the ethereal creatures (assuming they are not destroyed). If the Wraiths or Ghosts lost the combat, but their enemies failed this special break check, are they allowed to pursue?
Technically, though it seems a bit odd, they are still allowed to pursue. It is a perfectly reasonable house rule to say that they cannot pursue, but your opponent must agree to play this way.
8) Ghosts are not listed as one of the troops which are affected by VanHel's Dance Macabre. Is this an oversight?
No. They cannot be affected by VanHel's Dance Macabre. They are perhaps best used as a rear guard defense for your screaming skull catapults.
1) Flagellants, halflings, Empire dwarfs, and ogres have no champions. Can a human champion who is properly armed and equipped join these units and lead them?
In theory yes, as long as the champion is able to select all the required equipment that the unit he is leading has. Some unscrupulous players may try to use this rule to give some hideous advantage to these troops that was never intended. While it is technically legal game play, it should be discouraged.
2) Do the rules about a detachment using parent unit leadership scores apply to skirmished detachments? That is to say, can a skirmished bow detachment use the Ld of a parent Halberd unit?
No. Skirmishers are totally unable to benefit from the Leadership value of nearby detachments. Their scattered and hectic formation is not well suited to being commanded by others.
3) Detachments for the Empire: Wording states the detachment may take any Ld based tests on the Ld value of the parent regiment, including any bonuses that apply for standards, magic items, & so forth. Does this mean "bonuses" to the value (like the Crown of Command raising the value to 10) or to all attendant special effects that in some way relate to Ld? (ala the Dread Banner - would it make the Detachment also cause Fear as well?
Magic Items that directly effect the Leadership of the main unit will also affect the detachment units. Only the numerical leadership value applies to the splinter units in a detachment. Other factors affecting the leadership of the parent unit including banners, fear, etc. will make no difference. Other items will not affect other detachment units as the detached units are considered to be separate units for all other purposes. If the parent unit has the Crown of Command, detached units can use the Ld of 10, but it will be modified as normal. Only the actual parent unit with the Crown gets the unmodified 10 Ld.
1) Can the Master Rune of Flight pick out characters in units?
Yes. Nasty indeed!
2) Do Engineering runes make the war machine they are on magical?
Yes. This really should be a house rule only and should be agreed upon prior to the game.
3) Do Engineering runes make the shots of war machines they are on magical?
The Rune of Burning does, yes. In all other cases no. As above, this should really be a house rule.
4) Are war machines with Runes on them "Magic Weapons?"
No. Even if your group or club agrees that the machines are to be treated as magical in nature, they should not be treated as "magic weapons." This means that other magic items which negate magic weapons will not negate or destroy these war machines.
5) Can the sword of destruction negate Engineering Runes?
Yes. The Sword of Destruction is not specific to magic weapons, so that is fine. Again, this assumes you play by the house rule that runes make a war machine itself magical.
6) The Dwarf Rune of Warding seems to give multiple dispels (one per ward). Is this correct, or does the overall rule of no more than 1 dispel allowed overrule that?
It is an exception - I would perform this type of dispel by rolling all the dice for the runes all at once (ie., 3 dice for 3 runes of warding), so that it still "feels" like a single dispel.
7) Dwarf dispells: Against regular magic, the "base" value is a 4+. Against High Magic spells, is it still a 4+ or is it 5+?
4+
8) Same subject - can Dwarfs add power cards to boost their dispells?
Yes, just like any other army in the situation without any Wizards.
1) In the new Realm of Chaos supplement, Hellblades are described as causing d3 hits in one place and d3 wounds in another. Which is correct?
D3 Wounds. (bloody editorial mistake!).
2) In the new Realm of Chaos supplement the description for the Chaos Reward Breathe Fire states that it is used "in the same way as a dragon." Does this mean it can be used in hand to hand combat?
Yes. A follower of Chaos with this reward is "naturally" able to breath his flaming attack. He does not have a clumsy bow or other missle weapon to fiddle with and can just open up and say "ahhhh!"
3) The Crush attack of a Juggernought is phrased a bit differently than other "no save" attacks or attacks which "automatically wound." Does the wound inflicted bypass both the toughness roll and the armor save roll?
Yes. Such is the might of the Crush that no body or suit or army can withstand its fury!
1) Wood Elf Glade Riders do a Feigned Flight, but result in running off the board, ditto Pursuers. Are the Glade Riders then destroyed? We can't think of how to bring them back onto the board without the Pursuing unit touching them, as the Riders can't move from the spot when they are normally placed back on the board.
Strictly speaking, they aren't fleeing, so they are not destroyed. I would place the Glade Riders 1" from the Pursuers on the table edge on their return.
2) Wardancers using Storm of Blades. Do all of members of the unit get to attack the designated enemy, or just the ones who are actually touching the enemy unit?
Only those in base contact.
1) Can a Giant pluck a man-sized guy off of other bits (monsters, chariots, Screaming Bell, horse, Juggernought, Disc of Tzeentch)?
No. Any model which is all one thing, all one model, is not able to be affected by this attack. A crewman for a cannon or similar war machine could be picked out, but a crewman on a chariot cannot be.
2) Can an Orc/Goblin army have more than one Warlord? There is no "1" noted by the title as in other books...
No, just 1.
3) For special Goblin units that state a "Goblin Mobz" unit must be taken to take the special unit (like Doom Divers), would anything but "vanilla" gobbos count? Or would say a Night Gobbo unit count?
Only regular Gobbos.
1) Can Salamanders Move & Fire? Ditto Stand & Shoot as a Charge Response?
Yes for both. Remember that standing & shooting is worked out before chargers move, or as soon as they move into range.
2) Is there any sort of governing/guiding principle for the number of skinks on a stegadon?
As long as each Skink has enough space to stand up then it is fair enough! You can even make "double-decker" howdahs if desired. 10 would seem to be a practical upper limit, but there is nothing wrong with 20-30 even!
3) When coldblooded creatures are called upon to make a Ld test with something that states "use 3 dice" do they use 3 or 4 (since they normally use 3)?
They still use 3 dice. This is another case of magic beating the mundane.
4) Also, if the magically induced test dictates the use of "2d6" do coldblooded creatures still use 3d6?
Again, the magical effect will override the normal rules which apply to the lizardmen. Use 2 dice.
5) If a skink character rides a stegadon, is the stegadon's cost paid for out of character points or regimental points?
Pay for the actual stegadon from the regiments.
6) When firing a bolt thrower at a skink/kroxigor unit, where does the shot go?
Randomize between the Skinks & Krozigor as normal. If a Skink is hit, randomly determine which one to see if the next target will be another Skink or a Kroxigor.
7) Skink armor saves cannot be modified by the strength. Wood Elf bows give a -1 to save, but not from strength. Does this -1 affect the save?
No. They always save on a 6.
1) There are many items which "kill" target (Master Rune of Death, Hellfire Sword, etc) but do not specify that the target must be a living model. Should "slain", "dead", etc be also interpreted as destroyed (like in the case of a war machine)?
Yes. Treat all "killed" or "dead" results as "destroyed." Some magic weapons and spells are so powerful that they will rip apart or obliterate wood and steel as easily as flesh.
2) Morgiana's glance of froggy-ness- can this be dispelled in later turns?
- If not, do you get Victory Points for the frog as if you had killed the Wizard?
No & No VP's
3) When casting a spell, must the player indicate his target when he declares the casting?
Yes. Though the rules do not state so specifically, it generally accepted as good practice and sportsmanship to do so. Players who emphatically stick to their guns and claim they do not have to give a target are not very pleasant individuals and should be made fun of whenever possible.
4) Who strikes first when you charge with a double-handed weapon and, say, the Helm of Many Eyes (always strike first)?
You have to roll a D6 each time the situation occurs, to see which item "wins out" in that case. Magic items will always take precedence over non-magic abilities though.
5) Is it correct to play that two models that get stuck by the Black Gem of Gnar are, in effect, totally removed from the normal play sequence, and therefore cannot be affected by anything in the game at all?
Correct. The two models trapped by the Black Gem might just as well be two indestructible statues. They cannot do anything to each other or the game going on around them. The reverse is also true. The events unfolding around them in the game cannot, in any way, affect them. Units may not use the leadership of trapped models. If the models were part of a unit, the unit may move on without them. Should the models be freed later in the game, they will have to make every effort to rejoin the unit they were once in unless they are a model capable of acting on their own (heroes, wizards, etc).
6) A wizard who is normally immune to psychology makes a bad roll on the Potion of Knowledge. Is he affected by stupidity even though he is normally immune? (Liches for example)
This actually brings up quite an interesting general Warhammer rule of thumb. That is the idea that a magical effect overrides a non-magical ability or effect. This most commonly occurs when a magic item allows double handed weapon armed troops to strike first, even before assassins do. In this case, the rule of thumb means that the model will still suffer from stupidity.
7) The Plaque of Dominion - once per game, as a scroll, or can it be used every turn?
The latter.
8) Talisman of Ravensdark/Scarecrow banner/etc - Do creatures which can fly, but are not (using legs to charge) still be effected by these?
Yes - these items effect all creatures capable of flight, regardless of their current mode of movement.
9) Warhammer Magic lists in the Summaries that the Skaven item Cloak of Shadows is Skaven Assassins only, but the actual card says nothing about restrictions. Is it now for anyone, Skaven only, or Skaven Assassins only?
Anyone now!
10) If a unit in on a hill that is effected by Assault of Stone, are they effected by the spell?
Yep!
11)If a unit is moved via magic to engage an enemy unit in Close Combat, does the unit being "charged" get it's normal charge responses? What about if the unit is moved via a teleportation effect (not just a magical movement across the battlefield)?
No, as the enemy is moving too fast for the unit to respond.
12) Evil Sunz Banner is not listed in the Magic Standards - is this still "legal", or is it indeed gone?
It is indeed no more.
13) If a unit is "Held Fast", and fails a break check in H2H, is it automatically destroyed? Ditto for a unit frozen by a White Dragon & other "unit cannot move" situations.
Yes, but White Dwarf 206 updates the White Dragon Breath rules.
14) If a fleeing unit is hit with a "cannot move" spell/effect, and is charged whilst held fast, is it destroyed?
Yes.
15) If you take an item that allows you to cast spells (not a bound spell item), are you now a Wizard for purposes of taking Wizard Arcana?
No, as they lack the rigorous training required to master these items.
16) For Battle Magic spells - if you're dealt more than 1 of the same spell, can you cast it more than once (ie., if you're dealt 2 Fireballs, can you cast each Fireball once in that turn, for 2 total Fireballs?)
Yes, exactly so.
17) If a unit is "Held Fast", and fails a break check in H2H, is it automatically destroyed? Ditto for a unit frozen by a White Dragon & other "unit cannot move" situations.
Yes, but White Dwarf 206 updates the White Dragon Breath rules.
18) If a fleeing unit is hit with a "cannot move" spell/effect, and is charged whilst held fast, is it destroyed?
Yes.
19) Depending on the printing the Banner of Arcane Protection, it affects
a)Undead and Daemons
b)Undead and Wizards
c) Daemons and wizards.
Which is right?
The banner will affect Undead and Daemons. If you have any other version, be an honest man (come on Undead players!) and make the correction.
1) Can any spell/power cast with Total Power/Ultimate Force that is "remains in play" be dispelled/nullified/removed otherwise on the same turn that it was cast? (ie., what happens in Drain Magic/Energy Drain is played later in the turn?)
Yes; Total Power/Ultimate Force has no effect on a spell after it has been cast.
2) Laid to Rest: There is _no_ way possible to dispell/nullify a spell/power cast with Total Power/Ultimate Force, correct? Collars of Khorne, etc - nothing can _dispell/nullify_ the power, all you can do is try to protect against the effects.
The spell/power will be automatically cast. This is not the same thing as automatically working. Being immune to psychics/magics (Collar of Khorne, Talisman of Obsidian) will also prevent powers/spells cast with TP/UF from working on those models.
3) Which special characters must take the items with which they are listed?
All special characters both games must take all the equipment they are listed with. They may not decide to drop or change any of it. Here is a list of which points values do & don't include equipment:
Inclusive:
Imperial Guard, Sisters of Battle, Chaos (40K), Bretonnia, Lizardmen, High Elves (new)
Exclusive: Orks (40K), Space Wolves, Ultramarines, Eldar, Angels of Death, Orcs &
Goblin (WFB), Wood Elves, Skaven, Chaos (WFB), Undead, Chaos Dwarfs, Dwarfs, Dark Elves,
Empire.